Home‎ > ‎Announcements‎ > ‎

Club 10 TT #4

posted 13 Jul 2019, 09:46 by Lara Taylor   [ updated 13 Jul 2019, 09:48 ]
How totally amazing to see 32 people on the start line this morning for July's Club TT! An all time record start list, which meant that, for the first time ever, we had finishing riders passing the start corner while riders were still being set off from the start. A full-circle TT, if you will! 

For the amazing turnout I firstly need to thank Ali Walters for her rallying social media cry last week, encouraging you all to support the event (and making delicious cakes to entice you). It was fab to hear her encouragement and read the responses. And secondly I need to thank all you riders who listened to Ali, and came out to ride. I just know you all enjoyed it (once you'd gotten over the early wake-up call, and the painful nature of time trialing!) and it totally made my day to see all the support! Thanks guys!

As you can imagine with such a huge field, the results were really interesting. The road category was the larger category, and was conclusively won by Will Ranoe in 23:23. Second was Mark Pritchard (apologies to Mark for putting him in the wrong category at the HQ) in 25:26 which is a road bike PB for him. 

1st female road bike was Laura Senior in a blistering 26:45 (which as far as I know is a women's road bike course best, Angela Carpenter having achieved a 26:52 in 2016). 

In the TT category it was Matt Hill who topped the leaderboard with a 23:20 and was also first vet on standard (beating his VTTA time by a whopping 4 minutes 8 seconds). Matt was followed by Callum Davies-Russell in 23:41 in his second ever TT. 

First female TT bike was Lara T with a PB of 26:09 (just inside the women's course record) who was also 2nd vet on standard with a plus time of 2 minutes 38.

Great to see a good handful of PBs this month, and also to see 6 women on the start list, which I think is a record. Can we get more?

And last but not least, thanks to the volunteer team who helped run the event. It's sometimes a bit of a thankless task (not easy to communicate to riders in the zone) but the event couldn't run without them. This month those generous guys were:

Start timekeeper: Lara Harrison
Push-offer: Matt Hurst
Marshals: Jez Ponting, David Walters, Nick Davison, Frank Eisenhower, Ali Siddall, Nathan Hoy
Finish timekeeper: Brian Waters
Results: Marco Burgin
Yummy cakes: Ali Walters
Teas: Matt Hurst

Our next event is on Saturday 17th August. Please come back again everybody!

Full results are here.