Home‎ > ‎Announcements‎ > ‎

Roger's Summary of the Club Dinner Awards 2012

The 2012 Club Dinner – What a Brilliant Occasion!
Our Club’s Annual Dinner was held at The Mill in Elstead on Friday 30th November and 42 of us enjoyed a wonderful evening. Great venue, fantastic food and a lovely happy, friendly atmosphere made it a hugely successful evening that will long be remembered with enormous pleasure by everyone present.

As is the custom, a wide range of awards was made to club members. Dave Jordan could not be there due to family commitments so the following awards were presented by Roger Scott:

BEST FEMALE TIME TRIALIST – LARA. For coming 3rd in this year’s Beryl Burton Trophy, 7th woman in the British TT Championship, winning the North Hampshire RC Open 25 in a time of 59.08.

BEST MALE TIME TRIALIST – STEVE WILLIAMSON. Winning several evening club 10s and improving his PB for 25miles to an amazing 54.25. Steve is now up with the big boys of time trialling. Unfortunately, due to work commitments, Steve could not be present so Lara accepted the award on his behalf.

BEST TEAM TIME TRIALISTS – PETER PHIPPS, ROB MARCUS AND KARL CHANDLER. For winning the silver medal in the A3CRG Jubilee 25 3up TTT in a time of 57.14. Rob accepted the award on behalf of the team.

TIME TRIALIST OF THE YEAR – PETER PHIPPS. For consistently good performances. Seasons PBs were 22.34 for 10miles, 47.20 for 20miles and 59.41 for 25miles.

MOST IMPROVED TIME TRIALIST – CHARLES FLETCHER. Steadily improved through the season culminating with a PB 10 of 24.03 in his last event.

MOUNTAIN BIKE AWARD – JULIE AND ROWLAND.  For reinvigorating the mountain bike section of the club, actively promoting the club and encouraging new members.

GRAND TOUR des ALPES BEST RIDER AWARD – PETE ROSS.  Out of the 11 riders Pete was the only person to complete the whole course and also do the swims at the start (Lake Geneva) and the finish (the Med) despite being stricken with the deadly tummy bug.

GRAND TOUR des ALPES OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION AWARD – BRIAN WATERS. For the million and one things he did to help everyone and make the tour such a success including his brilliantly funny points score talks after dinner each night.


BEST WEEKEND RIDE LEADER – PAUL JORDAN. Paul’s rides are always great with good routes and coffee stops. Paul also does a brilliant job keeping the group together and looking after the weaker riders. He is always considerate of others and leads in a very safe and supportive way.

. The improvement continues. On club runs she is often the sole female rider but copes really well and now gives some of the guys a hard time. Great courage and tenacity.

POLKA DOT JERSEY AWARD FOR BEST CLIMBER -- ADAM DENTON. For brilliant climbing on the Grand Tour des Alpes and coming back down to help we weaker riders.

. For many things but particularly his induction rides for new members.


 For riding valiantly and strongly throughout the trip (and for putting a big tear in Roger’s shorts by riding into him just before we came into Paris but by then Roger was so tired that modesty was the last thing on his mind!).

THE LYCRA CUP – PAUL ROCHER. This is the club’s only piece of silverware and goes to the rider who looks sexiest and most athletic in their cycling gear. This award is sponsored by the top American cycling team, BMC, so not surprising the award goes to Paul with his fully coordinated team red BMC bike, shirt and shorts. Has he got delusions about being Cadel Evans?!!


MOST FEARLESS DESCENDER AWARD – ROB LOCKLEY. For amazingly fast dare-devil descending in the Alps (Was he motivated by the urgent need to make it to the nearest loo!!!)

BEST ALL-ROUNDER OF THE YEAR – MIKE BOYCE.  For organising the weekend club rides. For leading more weekend club rides than anyone else.  For doing more time trials than anyone else and doing PBs at 10miles, 25 miles and 50 miles. For great riding with the guys and keeping Paul company in the ALPS. Due to work commitments, Mike could not be present so Roger said he would deliver the award to him. 

CLUBMAN OF THE YEAR – MARCO.  This, the club’s premier award, very deservedly went to Marco, the stalwart of our club, for the massive amount of work he has done on the new club website, organising Le Grand Tour des Alpes, the St Malo to Paris ride and also the Olympic Road Race Event in his neighbour’s barn. Plus lots more behind the scenes. As ever, another year of outstanding contributions to our club.

Brian Waters then took over from Roger and presented two further awards:


BEST WHEEL FOLLOWER AWARD – ROGER SCOTT.  Apart from when he has got dropped, you will always find him unfailingly glued to a good wheel (usually Marco’s). Roger is the only person in the club who has never been known to do a turn on the front but we live in hope that one day it will happen – even if it is by accident!! Apparently he has exactly the same reputation in the Southern Hemisphere!

BEST SUPPORT CREW AWARD – SUZIE.  For absolutely brilliant driving and support on both the St Malo to Paris and Le Grand Tour des Alpes trips. Brilliant to find her unfailingly waiting for us with food, drinks and dry clothes on those very wet and bitterly cold days in the High Alps!!

Email Roger